Bg rear header


Selection Committee

ESPN Events will conduct a national search for a talented group of high-integrity individuals with experience as band directors, band alumni, retired band directors, administrators and ABC/ESPN staff. Band Directors from the SWAC, MEAC, SIAC, CIAA will also have a regular vote in the ranking process. The selection committee is co-chaired by Jackson State Director of Bands Emeritus, Professor Dowell Taylor, and Dr. Julian E. White, Florida A&M  Director of Bands Emeritus.

Selection Committee Responsibilities

  • Rank the Preseason Top 10 bands (Division I and Division II band directors will comprise 100% of the vote).
  • Rank top bands of the football season (Committee Votes). The first poll (ranking) will not be posted until each band has had at least one
    home or other specified game in order to submit.
  • Post a bi-weekly Top 10 Bands Poll, via, based on the evaluation of the selection committee.
  • Assign 8 Bands (4 Division I and 4 Division II) to semi-finals by early in November (Committee Votes)
  • Select Final 4 Bands of the Year (2 Division I and 2 Division II) prior to the Cricket Celebration Bowl (Committee Votes)
  • Competition of the Bands of the Year (day before Cricket Celebration Bowl)
  • Selection of the final champions for the Band of the Year (Committee Votes)
  • Champion will be announced, and Trophy presented during the 3rd quarter of the Cricket Celebration Bowl. (TBD)